Single Prescription Item
£9.90
/ mois
Cost for a single prescribed item in England.
Billoff unlimited subscription: £0.79 promo for 48h, then £43.12 per month with no commitment

We generate and send your cancellation letter to NHS Prepayment Certificate by registered mail
Sender

Recipient
Digital registered letter with receipt of acceptance
Subject : Cancellation of NHS Prepayment Certificate agreement

Step-by-step 2026 guide to cancel an NHS Prepayment Certificate, refunds, rights and alternatives. Includes prices: £32.05 (3-month), £114.50 (12-month).
| fastest method (name it + why) | Cancel the Direct Debit with your bank - this stops future payments immediately and prevents automatic renewal; also notify NHSBSA so they are aware. |
|---|---|
| effective delay | Not published by NHS Prepayment Certificate |
| notice period | 0 days for cancelling a Direct Debit; PPC itself cannot be cancelled after issue unless paid by Direct Debit. |
| cancellation fee (amount or 0) | £0 (no stated cancellation fee). You may still owe outstanding instalments if PPC is not fully paid. |
| minimum commitment | Full PPC period applies. 12-month PPC paid by Direct Debit is collected over 10 months; full PPC cost remains £114.50. |
| phone + hours | Not published by NHS Prepayment Certificate |
| postal address for registered letter | NHS Prepayment Certificate, 152 Pilgrim Street, NE1 6SN Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom |
An NHS Prescription Prepayment Certificate (PPC) lets people in England prepay for routine NHS prescription charges when they expect to need multiple prescription items. PPCs cover prescription charges for the certificate period and can save money compared with paying per item.
There are several PPC options: Single prescription item cost is £9.90 per item; a 3-month PPC costs £32.05; a 12-month PPC costs £114.50 when paid upfront. There is also an HRT PPC that costs £19.80 for 12 months.
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Single prescription item | £9.90 per item |
| 3-month PPC | £32.05 |
| 12-month PPC (upfront) | £114.50 |
| 12-month PPC (Direct Debit) | £114.50 paid over 10 months - monthly equivalent £11.45 |
| HRT PPC (12 months) | £19.80 |
| method | steps summary | estimated time | proof obtained | difficulty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Direct Debit - bank | Cancel the Direct Debit with your bank or building society; notify NHSBSA by email or post. | Immediate bank action; NHSBSA processing time not publicly disclosed | Bank confirmation of Direct Debit cancellation | Easy |
| Phone | Contact NHSBSA support for guidance; cannot cancel PPC after issue unless on Direct Debit. | Phone call duration varies | Call reference if provided | Medium |
| Notify NHSBSA at their support email and include PPC details and bank cancellation confirmation. | Depends on response time; not publicly disclosed | Email reply from NHSBSA | Medium | |
| Post | Send a registered letter to the NHS Prepayment Certificate postal address with details and bank confirmation. | Mail delivery time plus handling; not publicly disclosed | Registered post receipt | Hard |
If you permanently move out of England you will usually no longer need an English PPC. You should cancel any Direct Debit with your bank immediately and notify NHSBSA with proof of your move such as a new address or immigration documents. The applicable law for contract fairness is the Consumer Rights Act 2015 when assessing any disputed charges.
If you become entitled to free NHS prescriptions while your PPC is valid you may be eligible for a full or partial refund. You must apply for a refund within 3 months from when you became entitled to free prescriptions. If your exemption certificate was valid before the PPC started you are due a full refund. For details and to apply see official PPC guidance.
In the event of the subscriber's death, next of kin or estate representatives should cancel the Direct Debit with the bank and notify NHSBSA. Provide a copy of the death certificate and account details for any refund. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 protects against unfair contract terms in disputes over obligations after death.
NHSBSA accepts the following reasons as grounds for refund or adjustment: entitlement to a free prescription (medical or maternity exemption), death, and moving out of England. Provide documentary proof such as an exemption certificate, death certificate, or evidence of relocation. Documentation timelines for refunds are governed by NHSBSA refund rules; applications must be within 3 months of becoming entitled to free prescriptions where applicable.
A PPC runs for its full period: 3 months or 12 months. If you paid upfront the certificate ends automatically at expiry. If paid by Direct Debit it will normally renew automatically unless you cancel the Direct Debit with your bank and notify NHSBSA before the renewal date. The CMA guidance on auto-renewal applies when assessing renewal clarity.
Under the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 there is normally a 14-day cooling-off period for contracts concluded online or off-premises. However, this regulation does not create a right to cancel a PPC after it has been issued unless you are paying by Direct Debit and can stop further payments through your bank. For specific contract-level queries refer to the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013.
There are no published retention discounts or "pause" offers for PPCs in the NHSBSA documentation. The only practical option to stop future charges is to cancel the Direct Debit with your bank and notify NHSBSA. If you believe an unauthorised Direct Debit was taken you can claim an immediate refund under the Direct Debit Guarantee at your bank.
If you currently pay per item at £9.90, compare with PPCs:
3-month PPC: £32.05. Break-even point is 4 items in 3 months because 4 x £9.90 = £39.60, and £39.60 - £32.05 = £7.55 saved.
12-month PPC upfront: £114.50. Monthly equivalent = £114.50 / 12 = £9.54 per month equivalent. If you expect 12 or more prescription items in 12 months, a PPC saves money versus paying £9.90 per item: 12 x £9.90 = £118.80; £118.80 - £114.50 = £4.30 saved annually.
12-month PPC by Direct Debit: total annual cost £114.50 paid over 10 months at £11.45 per month.
HRT PPC: £19.80 per year. If you need more than 2 qualifying HRT items in a year, the HRT PPC saves money because 2 x £9.90 = £19.80 equal to the HRT PPC cost; 3 items would save £9.90.
Among listed competitors the lowest quoted annual cost is Benenden Health Cash Plan at £104.52 per year. Compare £104.52 with the 12-month PPC at £114.50: choosing Benenden could save £114.50 - £104.52 = £9.98 per year, but benefits differ because Benenden reimburses a range of services rather than covering NHS prescription charges directly.
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 requires services to be performed with reasonable care and skill and limits unfair contract terms. The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 give a 14-day cooling-off period for most online and off-premises contracts, subject to exceptions. The Competition and Markets Authority treats unclear auto-renewal practices as potentially unfair and enforces clear disclosure of renewal terms.
If NHSBSA takes a Direct Debit payment without your agreement you can make an indemnity claim at your bank under the Direct Debit Guarantee for an immediate refund. If you cancel a Direct Debit you must notify NHSBSA to avoid outstanding balances; cancelling a Direct Debit does not remove any unpaid liability for the PPC's full cost if instalments remain.
First raise a complaint with NHSBSA in writing and keep copies. If unresolved, contact Citizens Advice for guidance. For unfair terms or unclear auto-renewal, you may contact the Competition and Markets Authority. For card payments consider a Section 75 claim or chargeback via your card issuer if applicable. The statutory acts named above are the primary remedies for disputes: Consumer Rights Act 2015 and Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013.
After cancelling a Direct Debit ask your bank for written confirmation and keep any NHSBSA reply. Retain proof for at least 12 months in case of disputed charges. If NHSBSA processes a refund, keep the confirmation and bank statements showing the refund.
Your personal details remain with NHSBSA for record keeping. To re-activate a PPC you can buy a new PPC online via the official guidance at https://www.gov.uk/get-a-ppc. If you paid by Direct Debit previously and cancelled, you must set up a new payment arrangement to renew automatically.
If you cancel a Direct Debit but the PPC is not fully paid, you may owe the balance. NHSBSA states you may have an outstanding balance to pay for the PPC if you cancel your Direct Debit before completing payments. Pay any outstanding amount promptly to avoid debt recovery steps.
Use this checklist after deciding to cancel your PPC.
£9.90
/ mois
Cost for a single prescribed item in England.
£10.68
/ mois
Covers all NHS prescriptions for 3 months.
£9.54
/ mois
Covers all NHS prescriptions for 12 months when paid upfront.
£11.45
/ mois
Covers all NHS prescriptions for 12 months paid in 10 monthly instalments.
£1.65
/ mois
Covers qualifying HRT medicines for 12 months.
No commitment. Billoff helps you cancel or adjust your NHS Prepayment Certificate subscription without hunting down every detail alone.
Below are common alternatives people compare for this type of subscription.
£23.00
/ mois
Reimbursement plan for everyday healthcare costs including prescriptions, dental and optical care.
£8.92
/ mois
Focuses on private treatment for covered conditions with fast access to surgery for some plans.
£8.71
/ mois
Provides cash back for dental, optical and therapies with no upper age limit.
£7.63
/ mois
Cash plan contributing to everyday healthcare such as dental and physiotherapy with children included for free.
NHS Prepayment Certificate is available in many countries. Here are several frequently cited markets:
What you should know about NHS Prepayment Certificate subscription and cancellation terms:
Automatic monthly or yearly renewal. Billing is handled by the primary account or the signup platform.
Renewal runs automatically at the end of each billing period while the subscription stays active.
Cancel from account settings or the app store used at signup. Access usually continues until the paid period ends.
Refunds depend on billing date, country, and payment channel.
The family plan admin can add or remove members per the service’s household and age rules.
Plan changes and cancellations follow the provider’s terms and local law.
Billoff simplifies cancellation: we handle the cancellation process for your NHS Prepayment Certificate subscription, whichever payment method you use.
Cancel, adjust, or compare options in a few clicks.